COVID 19 – For information & updates see our Advice Page

Coronavirus: Which holiday destinations can I travel to?


Please be aware that the following information is based on recent FCO government guidance and is up to date as of Thursday, October 22nd 2020.

Coronavirus: Which holiday destinations can I travel to?

With Coronavirus forcing a number of countries to close their borders and airlines to ground flights, we’ve compiled a travel guide summarising the most recent changes to the UK’s foreign travel advice.

Where can I visit without encountering any restrictions?

There are only a handful of countries that holidaymakers from England can visit without any restrictions:

Canary Islands (from Sunday at 04:00 GMT)

Greece (including from Sunday at 04:00 GMT, Mykonos)

Cuba- You can fly to Cuba at certain entry points.



Germany- If you have not recently visited a part of the UK deemed at ‘high risk’ you can visit Germany without quarantining.

Madeira and Azores- Travelling here requires proof of a negative COVID-19 test. If you cannot provide proof, you will be tested on arrival and must quarantine until the results come back.

Maldives- tourists must take a private Covid test no less than 96 hours before travelling, non-tourists must quarantine for 14 days on arrival

Cyprus- The UK is in Cyprus’ Category B: this means that tourists are permitted to travel to Cyprus, but they need to provide a negative COVID-19 test result on arrival, obtained within 72 hours before travel.

Which countries are exempt from England’s travel quarantine?

As the government believes that travellers from the below countries pose a reduced risk from COVID-19, these countries are exempt from quarantine upon arrival in England:

Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, The Azores, Barbados, Bermuda, British Antarctic Territory, British Indian Ocean Territory, British Virgin Islands, Brunei, Canary Islands, Cayman Islands, Channel Islands, Cuba, Cyprus, Dominica, Denmark, Estonia, Falkland Islands, Faroe Islands, Fiji, Finland, Germany, Gibraltar, Greece, Greenland, Grenada, Hong Kong, Ireland, the Isle of Man, Japan, Latvia, Lithuania, Maldives, Macau, Madeira, Malaysia, Mauritius, Montserrat, New Caledonia, New Zealand, Norway, Pitcairn, Henderson, Ducie and Oeno Islands, Seychelles, Singapore, South Korea, South Georgia and the South Sandwich Islands, St Barthélemy, St Helena, Ascension and Tristan da Cunha, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Pierre and Miquelon, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Sweden, Taiwan, Thailand, Vietnam.

Do not forget! The above list means that travellers in that specific country can come to the UK without having to quarantine. This may not mean that you can visit these countries from the UK, be sure to check the travel restrictions which are in place for the country that you want to visit prior to booking your trip.

Be aware that other destinations, such as Cyprus, require visitors to complete a COVID-19 test within a set time limit prior to arrival and present proof of a negative test. Ensure to check the government website for the country that you are visiting before travelling.

What are the recent changes to travel advice?

22/10- The Canary Islands, Denmark, Maldives and Mykonos have been added to the travel corridor exempt list, meaning that those returning from 4am 25th October will no longer need to self isolate.

22/10- Lichtenstein has been removed from the travel corridor list, all passengers that return from 4am 25th October will need to isolate for 14 days.